Michael Mann elected 2015 AAAS Fellow

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected 347 Fellows for 2015.

Professor Michael Mann

Michael Mann elected AAAS Fellow in the Section of Geology and Geography

The AAAS Council elected 347 Fellows for 2015, in recognition of their contributions to innovation, education, and scientific leadership. The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874 to recognize members for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The new Fellows will be recognized in a 13 February Fellows Forum at the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. At the forum, Fellows receive an official certificate and fellowship rosette pin, the emblem of Fellowship.

Fellows are elected and nominated by the steering groups of the Association's 24 sections; three Fellows who are current AAAS members, as long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution; and the AAAS chief executive officer.

Nominees must have been continuous AAAS members for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected. The AAAS Council, chaired by the AAAS president, makes the final selection.